Writing Update: Hidden

shutterstock_112499642I love to write and have had it in the back of my mind, ever since grade school, that I wanted to write books. I draw in my free time, so the idea of writing and illustrating a children’s book or comic always sounded like a great idea, but in the end I haven’t had the inspiration or energy to create that many fully illustrated pages. YA or adult fiction was definitely still on the radar though.

I had written sporadically in high school, but took a break from fiction when I started college. Graduate school in a highly science based field kind of kills your muse, so I didn’t really get back into writing until recently. A couple years ago, my lovely and talented sister-in-law introduced me to the concept of NaNoWriMo- National Novel Writing Month.

For those of you not familiar, the goal of NaNoWriMo is to write 50,000 words within a month, or the length of a full, short-length novel. I gave it a shot, but failed miserably, only completing about 15,000 words. I had some good excuses, recently engaged, busy with work, and life was just crazy in general. But I didn’t give up. I kept chipping away at the story idea, finally completing a 85,000 manuscript over the period of a year. Editing was a nightmare, but I was able to complete the first edit within a month. That was back in February 2015.

At that point I took another break from writing. Little things like getting married, buying a house, and a promotion at work kind of got in the way. But, I didn’t give up on the idea. Over the last year, I distributed my novel, entitled Hidden, to multiple readers (loving friends and family members) and have been waiting to get critiques back. I’m still waiting on my poky husband to finish his review, but hope to get started with the next round of edits by March. Then searching for new beta readers!

My original goal was to start looking for an agent this spring, but I feel that may be a bit farther out in the future. Does anyone out there have personal experience with the whole agent search? I would love any advice and feedback. Also, for anyone interested in beta reading an adult urban fantasy novel, give me a shout out!

3 thoughts on “Writing Update: Hidden

  1. AH! I’m so happy to read this. Why? Because you plugged me! :p Just kidding, but thank you for that. Much appreciated! Though, I’m afraid you may have used the wrong adjectives: lovely and talented. Perhaps ‘evil and sarcastic’ would be more appropriate. Hee hee!

    Anyway, I’m really happy to see that you’re going to look for other beta readers. Why? Because everyone who read your novel knows you. Whether you like it or not, they’re biased towards your novel. You need to find people who have actual experience betareading and whom don’t know you to read your novel. Only then will you have an idea of how it will be received in the market and by readers.

    I’m also ECSTATIC that you picked a genre and target audience. ^.^ Apparently my hounding you finally paid off. Hee hee! Looking forward to your blog posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

