Top Ten Tuesday

Welcome back for our next installment of Top Ten Tuesday, sponsored by the lovely people over at The Broke and the Bookish! This week’s assignment was to come up with a list of my favorite ten books toptentuesdayfrom within the last year or so that were outside of my comfort zone.

I read a lot of books, but I typically navigate toward modern science fiction and fantasy novels, some YA, post-apocalyptic… Varied, but there are a few genres I avoid, like romance, anything to do with business, realism… But if the mood strikes me, I’ll pick up any book once and at least give it a try.

So here is the part we’ve all by waiting for:

My Top Ten Favorite Books Outside my Comfort Zone!

10. I, Robot by Isaac Asimov– I love science fiction, but I strongly gravitate toward newer novels. In order to grow as a reader and a writer, I’ve been trying to go back and read some of the classics and this piece is the basis of so much of the world’s current science fiction… How could I pass it up?

9. The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury– Again, picked up as part of goal to improve as a reader and a writer. I read Fahrenheit 451 in middle school and loved the book, so I figured I could try to give another piece by this author a shot. The book was a bit on the sexist side and sort of dry, but overall I enjoyed the stories.

8. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot– I’ll admit, I was forced to read this one for graduate school. But it wasn’t so bad. I really liked the story and the science behind it, despite the fact that I avoid realism in books like the plague.

7. A Midsummer Night’s Dream By William Shakespeare– Come on, it’s Shakespeare. The poetry is well articulated but always seemed so dry in high school. So many other books reference this piece of literature, so I had to finally pick it up.

6. The Postman by David Brin– I’ve read my share recently of contemporary dystopian and post-apocalyptic novels. This book was a bit older, but I had seen it referenced in a few other pieces. Good book overall!

5. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman– I picked up this book believing it was exactly the sort of book I normally read, but I was in for a shock. The anti-christian sentiment in this book is super strong, which made me a bit uncomfortable. I was very surprised to see such a level of anti-religious statements in a children’s book. Despite this fact, I quite enjoyed this book and the entire series.

4. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith– Contemporary romance is not really a genre I tend to get into, but my husband recommended this book (which he had picked up on a whim while traveling). It is a wonderful YA romance story that I would highly recommend for anyone looking for a quick, sweet read.

3. The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larson– When I began the first book in this series, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I almost stopped and returned it the the library after only a few chapters. The writing was dry (probably not helped since it was originally written in Swedish and then translated) and the story centered around political issues and media journalism. Ugh! But, so many people had told me the books were amazing, so I plodded on. I’m supremely glad I did! The plotting and character interactions were amazing!

2. Conversion by Katherine Howe– When I picked up this book at a comic convention, I had no idea what it was about, just assuming that it would be fantasy fiction of some sort. It turns out the book is actually loosely based on real life events that occurred several years ago on the east coast. The book contains several historical flashbacks, not usually my thing, but very well done and intriguing overall.

1. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larson– Again, another book in the Millenium Trilogy… I still have trouble getting over how good these books were. I’m extremely sad that the author passed away, though I see that another author has written a sequel! I might just have to pick it up πŸ™‚

 

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    1. It’s definitely more historically based than anything I’m used to reading and loosely based on a true story. While technically in the fantasy realm, it’s written in such a way that leaves you guessing whether it actually is fantasy until the last page πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

