Writing Update: Snatched

So, making time for writing has been a bit of a challenge lately. Especially while trying to keep up with a blog and still make time for my huge stack of books waiting to be read (or in this case, waiting for me to finally write my reviews…).

20160130_090331

During our honeymoon in the UK, my husband and I had a little bit of time in between our wanderings to just sit and relax. While my hubby read or drew, I took some time to write. I’m happy to say that I finally bypassed 60,000 words on Snatched. But it has been a bit of a struggle. I just got through a transitional part in the book and am finally getting into the next section of action, which is the most fun to write 🙂 Hopefully the remainder of the book flies by as fast as I hope it will!

For all the other writers out there, how do you get through the less exciting scenes? I try to keep reminding myself that the part I REALLY want to write is only a few pages away, but it’s still hard. Any advice for an aspiring author?

5 thoughts on “Writing Update: Snatched

  1. Congrats on your progress!

    Here’s the hard answer about how I get past less exciting scenes – I cut them. If it’s hard for you to write them without falling asleep, it may be even harder for your readers. Maybe analyze what is making the scene boring, and why you even need it there. Is it an “exposition” scene? Is it only filler to make sure the pacing works out? Maybe find a way to introduce the exposition during a scene with more kinetics. Or, if you want the pacing to still work, introduce a subplot conflict, a relevant flashback, or a quiet conversation between two characters that takes up word count but still adds something interesting for the reader.

    Then again, I find the quiet character moments to be the most enjoyable to write, and I find action a colossal burden! It is fun to read, but man does it require so much extra effort to write. All that fight blocking. Ugh. But I think we can both agree that scenes which are not incredibly fun but still need to happen for the plot to make sense are never enjoyable to write, and perhaps their contents should be woven into other, more interesting scenes.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the advice! Now that you mention it, I think pacing has been my main struggle with this particular section. I might be able to cut out part of it….. Something to consider for my first edit.

      And I love writing action scenes 🙂 It’s like directing a movie, adjusting the character placement, the scenery, lighting, all the fun artistry that goes along with cinematics.

      Like

  2. Heyy, well done for getting to 60,000 words!! I’m on 72,000, I’ve finished writing my novel roughly but trying to expand and redraft all the scenes, I often got to frustrating scenes that I found hard to write, but my tip is to write the main parts that are going to happen in bullet points, then move on to the next bit and then when you feel up for it you can expand on the bullet points to make it into a proper scene (:

    Like

    1. Way to go! I’m far from finished with this book. My final word count will probably be closer to 80 or 90k by the time I’m done. The tough part is, I’ve already done outlines of the sections I’m working my way through. I’ll get through it, I just need to find my muse again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

