Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

It’s time for another installment of Top Ten Tuesday, sponsored by the wonderful people over at The Broke and the Bookish!

This week’s topic is:

The Top Ten Books I Love, But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked about Enough in a While

  1. Game of Thrones by George RR Martin: I swear, just about everyone has probably read this book (and probably most of the rest of the series) by now, but it’s still worth a mention. These books were sick and twisted, but a wonderful weaving nonetheless.
  2. 1111608The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan: This is the first book in Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. The books are huge and the series is ridiculously long, but the character development and world building are extraordinary.
  3. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card: Moving away from the world of high fantasy, I have to give a shout out to this space opera. The entire series is awesome, covering topics from bullying and love, to intergalactic travel and xenophobia.
  4. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling: Sorry, but the wizarding world was a large part of my adolescent life and will always be near and dear to my heart.
  5. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare: I got addicted to this entire series a couple years ago, before they were quite so popular… I’m actually a little afraid for the new TV show after they botched the City of Bones movie so badly…
  6. 18932Dogsbody by Diana Wynne Jones: I think I read this book back in elementary school, but it was my first introduction to this amazing author. Really, if you’ve never picked up one of her books, do it! P.S. She’s the one who wrote Howl’s Moving Castle… which was later made into a pretty popular anime movie 🙂
  7. Homeland by RA Salvatore: Salvatore might be better known for his Crystal Shard series, but honestly his Dark Elf Trilogy (prequel to The Crystal Shard) was darker and even more intriguing.
  8. Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede: Yes, yes yes… I know this is a children’s book, but I read it about a million times as a kid and have since reread it as an adult. I still love it. You can’t help but love a story where the princess is smart and self reliant, white knights are an annoyance, and the dragons are the good guys!
  9. 47212The Girl who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson: Awesome books. Very gritty and graphic, but well written and intriguing characters who you can’t help but love.
  10. Storm Front by Jim Butcher: I will state outright that Jim Butcher is probably my favorite author in the world. This is the first book in his Dresden File’s series, an expanding set of novels based in the city of Chicago. I could have probably filled this entire list with books by Butcher, but I figured I should probably switch it up at least a little… Definitely check out his other books, including the  Codex Alera series!
Leave a Reply

