Flash Fiction: Lost Love

She left again.

Eating breakfast, I heard keys jingling and she was out the door without any chance of pursuit. I woke her up early with kisses and she hugged me affectionately, no note of distress or sign that she was planning to leave.

But now she’s gone.

I pace lethargically, unable to think about anything beyond my lonely heart while watching the cars pass by, hoping that I’ll see hers pull back up the long gravel driveway. But she’s been gone for hours now. It’s getting dark. Memories of her flash behind my eyes, cuddling with her on the couch, my head resting on her lap, or watching her pad around the kitchen creating culinary masterpieces. My stomach grumbles, but the thought of food makes me sick with sadness.

The sound of crunching gravel floats through the open window as a car creeps into the driveway, interrupting my rumination.

It’s her, it’s her, it’s her!

My lost love, my companion has returned to me! I wait at the door, unable to step forward for fear that she’ll vanish, that it was all a hopeless dream…

The door creaks open loudly, hurting my ears, but I don’t care as she appears, leaning over stroking my head with love. I’m giddy with excitement, almost dancing with glee over her return.

“Good boy!” She croons, scratching behind my ears as my tail wags ecstatically.

All is right again in the world.

4 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: Lost Love

  1. I’ve seen plenty of stories from pet POVs before, but they always fall flat for me because I see it coming. They forecast it too heavily. I’m glad to say that yours actually caught me off guard! I thought this was about an abandoning mother or something at first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

