Book Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

10798416My husband is a sucker for romance (making me a very lucky woman!). He loves sappy movies and a good love story, so picked this book up on a whim. When I stole the novel from his bookshelf, he had to share its unique background with me.

The novel weaves a tale of the possibility of meeting the love of your life, by chance, while traveling far from home. And it so happens my husband had just met a girl while traveling on a train (not me… our story’s not that cool) and they hit it off. Now, it didn’t work out in the long run (obviously), but they’re still friends.

A Bit About the Book

Four minutes changes everything. Hadley Sullivan 17 misses her flight at JFK airport, is late to her father’s second wedding in London with never-met stepmother. Hadley meets the perfect boy. Oliver is British, sits in her row. A long night on the plane passes in a blink, but the two lose track in arrival chaos. Can fate bring them together again?

My Take?

I had high expectations for this story after my husband’s shining review along with his own nostalgic tale. Did it live up to such expectations?

You bet it did!

Smith’s book is a sweet contemporary tale of friendship, happenstance, tragedy, and young love. The story moves along rather quickly; I finished it in about two days because I didn’t want to put it down! The story leaves you with that warm feeling in your chest and a cheerful outlook on a world where love wins out in the end.

I had a few complaints about the book, but they’re mainly based on the fact that it’s a story targeted toward young adult readers. Some of the happenstance events are very unlikely and the attitudes of the main characters tend to be a bit selfish and moody throughout the book, but… they’re teenagers so I guess that’s to be expected. There’s nothing particularly special about the author’s writing style. Smith weaves her story in straight forward, easy to digest language without a lot of embellishment, making for a quick read.

Despite my few complaints, I give this book Five out of Five stars. It’s a great summer read or vacation novel if you want something to give your brain a break from life. Not the genre of book I’d typically go for, but a fun novel overall 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

Leave a Reply

