Book Review: Hexed by Michelle Krys

13597755This was another one of those books I picked up as a pre-release at C2E2, an amazing comic and entertainment expo. That was roughly two years ago… I’m a bit embarrassed to say it’s taken me this long to get a review up for it, but better late than never!

The Background Story

If high school is all about social status, Indigo Blackwood has it made. Sure, her quirky mom owns an occult shop, and a nerd just won’t stop trying to be her friend, but Indie is a popular cheerleader with a football-star boyfriend and a social circle powerful enough to ruin everyone at school. Who wouldn’t want to be her?

Then a guy dies right before her eyes. And the dusty old family Bible her mom is freakishly possessive of is stolen. But it’s when a frustratingly sexy stranger named Bishop enters Indie’s world that she learns her destiny involves a lot more than pom-poms and parties. If she doesn’t get the Bible back, every witch on the planet will die. And that’s seriously bad news for Indie, because according to Bishop, she’s a witch too.

Suddenly forced into a centuries-old war between witches and sorcerers, Indie’s about to uncover the many dark truths about her life—and a future unlike any she ever imagined on top of the cheer pyramid.

My Thoughts

I’ve read a lot of young adult fiction in my day, some amazing and some not so great. I have to admit I was not impressed by this particular novel and had to force myself to finish it 😦

Right from the beginning, the main character is a horrendous brat of a girl with seemingly few redeeming qualities. Many characters in YA fiction have a selfish streak, entirely focused on finding themselves and sometimes obsessing about social graces that adults might find silly. Indie takes her teenage angst even further, insulting her mother and being openly rude to another student who has offered her nothing but friendship. She’s honestly not likeable in the least and doesn’t grow much beyond that by the end of the book.

The plot line is also lacking. In an ancient war between her family and opposing magic users, the lives of all witches rely on Indie, an inexperienced girl who only has days to learn enough magic to save the world as we know it. Throw in the usual love triangle with a mysterious stranger and the boy next door and you have the recipe for an extremely cliched and disappointing novel.

Sadly I have to give this book only Two out of Five stars, and I feel like that’s being generous. Although it might be enjoyable for a status-obsessed thirteen year old, I would not recommend this novel for anyone who has survived past high school.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Hexed by Michelle Krys

  1. I’ve come to find that YA fiction, despite often having really enjoyable sounding high concept premises, is often ruined by its terrible protagonists. Perhaps we’re too old to relate to the teen angst thing, but I wasn’t even that angsty when I was a teen!

    I think there’s got to be a market for YA style fiction – this seemingly genre bending, mainstream, high concept category that can have any degree of speculative elements so long as it’s pretty action packed/plot driven – but has adult characters doing adult things and not being whiny brats lol. That’s kind of what I’ve gone for in my own book, but there isn’t….I dunno, that category doesn’t really have a name on it yet. But I definetly wish there were more books with YA-type premises and writing level/style that skipped the love triangles and YA tropes.

    Like

    1. Ditto! I love the ideas behind so many pieces of YA fiction, but the characters make me want to bang my head into a wall. Oppositely, the main issue I run into with adult fiction is the tendency to overuse sex and gory violence as a plot tools. One of the reasons why a break with YA fiction is nice once in a while…

      I have found a few authors out there with high action adult fiction, but typically the novels fall into the urban fiction realm- my favorite of these authors being Jim Butcher, author of the Dresden Files.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

