100 Posts! And a Little More DIY…

I’m picking up steam!

It took from February to the end of May (about 4 months) for me to get up to the 50 post mile marker, but it’sĀ  only taken me about two and a half more months to get another 50 posts šŸ™‚ Thank you to all of you who’ve followed me along the way!

As with the last time I hit a mile marker, I think I’ll use this as a little opportunity to share a few more fun facts about my life.

539772Random Fact #1: Beginning as a very young child, I loved reading (big surprise there, right?). I actually still have my all time favorite childhood book sitting on my shelf at home. It’s about a young girl who goes to work for a cranky old sorcerer. The water color illustrations are absolutely amazing and the entire story is written in rhyming text… It’s both lyrical and intricately beautiful. And probably explains some of my current day fascination with costuming, imaginary creatures, and general fantasy šŸ™‚

Someday I would love to write and illustrate a children’s book. I love drawing and writing, so you’d think it makes sense. One little issue though… I’m not very good at drawing kids. Recently I attempted to do a character study for a little girl, practice makes perfect and all. Here’s my attempt. Thoughts?

maggie_character_study_by_magechild-dadxp1o

Random fact #2: As mentioned in my entry to celebrate 50 posts, I love costumes! During our recent visit to the renaissance fair, we decided to dress up šŸ™‚ You see anything an everything at these fairs- Victorian dress is traditional, but you’ll see barbarians, fantastical beasts, steampunk, fae… the list goes on. Here’s a pic of our costumes:

resized_20160716_115300_zpsqlhnc5p0

Pretty simple overall, but it worked. My husband had a cape to begin with, but decided to leave it behind because it was really hot that day, going for a sort of traveling merchant look. Pretty much just khaki pants, boots, and a collared shirt.

I spent the day as a peasant archer. This was a pretty easy look to pull together at the last second. I had a green skirt (the one from my poison ivy costume) and a white skirt that I layered to look like a petticoat. I paired those with a peasant blouse, feathered hair piece, belts, sandals, and of course the bow. Next time I think I’ll need to get some sort of corset to finish out the look.

When you’re dressing for a renaissance fair, here’s a few pointers to remember:

  • Make sure your costume is comfortable. You don’t want to spend the day freezing or sweating. Also, make sure to wear appropriate shoes- you’ll be walking a lot!
  • Weapons are an intricate part of many costumes… but be smart about them. Most fairs require any weapons to be “peace tied,” or latched into sheathes to protect sharp edges. If you plan to carry a bow, leave the arrows at home.
  • Make use of crazy accessories! Masks, steampunk goggles, elf ears, fairy wings, body paint, armor, corsets… You’ll see it all. Again, just make sure you feel comfortable with whatever you decide to wear.

Do you have any advice to share with costumers out there? Let me know in the comments below šŸ™‚

One thought on “100 Posts! And a Little More DIY…

Leave a Reply

