NaNoWriMo Wrap-Up

I didn’t participate in the traditional way for NaNoWriMo this year, but it was tons of fun following along with all the other writers out there on Word Press, Twitter, and other social media websites. Way to go! Despite doing very little actual writing during the month of November, I was still busy working on my book…

Editing, that is!

After feedback from friends, family, and betas, I was ready to jump back into my manuscript. It had been my goal to wrap up editing by December 1st and participate in Pitch Madness this round, but that definitely didn’t happen. One great part about editing with feedback from readers is that you can find all the little chinks in your story, the weaknesses and flaws that are hard to pinpoint when doing edits with no outside input. That also means a lot more work.

So, as of the end of November, I’ve edited my first three chapters (about 20 single-spaced pages out of 150). That might not seem like a lot, but those chapters have had some major revision including the addition of an inciting incident (mentioned in my NaNo post earlier this month) and re-writing sections to smooth out character interactions, make dialogue more realistic, and introduce concepts earlier than they had popped up in my original manuscript.

Overall I’m very happy with where I am so far, but have a long way to go. Hopefully I’m ready in time for Pitch Madness in March, but if not, there’s always Pitch Wars at the end of summer 🙂

Happy Writing!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

