New Years Resolution- Become a Superhero

Hello to every one of you beautiful, amazing people out there and Happy New Year!

2016 was a great year for me personally, filled with travel, eye opening art, and inspirational stories. I visited Europe for the first time, finished the rough draft for my second novel, filled my art journal, volunteered in New York City, and posted a year’s worth of blog entries.

But 2016 was kind of a bummer overall. With political turmoil here in the U.S. and globally, disturbing and questionable journalism, deaths of several amazing individuals (Snape, Princess Leia, and the Goblin King to name a few), economic upheaval, and civil unrest in general, it’s kind of a scary time for all of us. Against all this darkness, it’s time to stand up and be the light of the world and reclaim 2017.

So, my New Years resolution? I’m going to become a superhero. And you should too. But how exactly does one train to become a superhero? Set measurable goals.

Physical Training

Don’t get me wrong, I probably won’t be leaping tall buildings or single handedly battling the forces of evil, but I will be stronger, faster, and healthier in 2017. This year, I promise to take better care of my own body and become the best version of myself.

  • Work out 30-60 minutes 4 days a week
  • Eat at least 3 servings of fruits/veggies EVERY DAY (veggies can be tasty, right?)
  • Try at least one new fitness class (running clinic, yoga, judo, etc…)
  • Sign up for my first half-marathon (Wish me luck…)

Mental Training

With rampant misinformation and trolling, it’s easy to fall into the intellectual equivalent of a sludgy cesspool. Even superheroes can get mind-whammied once in a while, right?  In 2017, I will nourish and train my brain against the forces of evil.

  • Read 10 non-fiction books
  • Read/listen to at least 52 books in 2017 (one for every week)
  • Limit social media to informational/work purposes (no random surfing just because I’m bored)
  • Finish final edits on first novel by March and begin querying (missed about 6 other deadlines for this already, but gotta keep pushing forward)
  • Write at least 5 hours every week

Spiritual Training

Like I said above, when there’s darkness all around, we need to stand up and be the light in the world. But a hero’s spirit can be tempted and tainted without proper training, positivity, and inspiration.

  • Find at least one new organization to volunteer with in 2017
  • Volunteer through church and my community
  • Donate to 3 or more good causes
  • Visit 10 art galleries/displays
  • Take 15 minutes every day for meditation and prayer
  • Experience 10 live theatrical or musical performances
  • Put a positive spin on my writing, artwork, and blog posts 🙂

Grab your cape and face the forces of darkness! How will YOU be a superhero in 2017?

10153053_10101850944690998_1769321115652909826_n

 

 

One thought on “New Years Resolution- Become a Superhero

Leave a Reply

