New Years Resolutions In Review

Well, it’s been a little more than a month since New Year’s Eve and the beginning of all those pesky New Years Resolutions. On January 1st, I made the resolution to be a super hero. I know, I know… it sounds kind of ridiculous, but the world really needs more positivity right now and those who are willing to stand up for each other.

To break down my goal, I had three main training arenas: physical, mental, and spiritual.

Physical

So… to be honest, I haven’t been doing the greatest in this area lately. I was pretty sick for about 2 weeks smack dab in the middle of January, meaning I wasn’t able to work out as much as I would have liked. When I was feeling healthy, I met my goal of exercising 3-4 days per week though, so that’s good. I feel stronger and have been happier with the way I look, so that’s always a plus! I’ve also been meeting my goal to eat at least 3 servings of fruits or veggies every day to keep the motors running efficiently 🙂 Grade: B

Mental

This is one area that I think I’ve been doing pretty awesome in. I’ve already finished five fiction books this year and am working my way through two non-fiction works. And surprisingly, I’m enjoying the non-fiction books very much! Currently I’m reading Everyday Survival: Why Smart People Do Stupid Things by Laurence Gonzales and Bloodstoppers and Bearwalkers: Folk Traditions of the Upper Peninsula by Richard Dorson. The books are both very different, but quite enjoyable. I’ve been writing pretty regularly (if not every day) and I’m on track to finish this round of edits on my novel by the end of February (fingers crossed). Grade: A

Spiritual

I think this is the area I’m going to focus on most in the month of February. I’ve been expanding my horizons. I visiting two art galleries this month and went to see The Phantom of the Opera with my husband (which was amazing!). My husband and I also visited our local humane society and will hopefully be doing some sort of volunteer work there 🙂 One thing I drastically need to work on this month though is being more positive. I feel like there is a lot of negativity in the news, social media, and just life in general. For the month of February, my goal is to be a positive force for those around me. Grade: B

So, Overall January has been a pretty decent month 🙂

How are your New Years Resolutions coming along?

 

Leave a Reply

