Chicago Book Haul

Better late than never. Back on our trip to Chicago in December, my husband and I had to pick up books for our Christmas book exchange. So, we stopped into one of our favorite locally owned bookstores, Unabridged, to purchase some old favorites to share with friends and a few new items as well.

20161212_081834_zps44vdlmdo

For the holiday book exchange, there were a few simple rules. We had to either chose books we’d read recently and loved or a book that we desperately wanted to read but had yet to pick up. I chose The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, a wonderfully magical love story (check out my review here). My husband picked out Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey, the first book in a space opera series he’s been reading (and that I might have to steal for myself in the near future).

We also discovered a few new gems on our trip. I picked up Monster Verse, a collection of poems and short stories by famous authors about, well… monsters. My husband grabbed Up in the Old Hotel, a conglomeration of real life stories of some of New York’s more colorful citizens throughout history. I can’t wait to dive in 🙂

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

