Coffee in Madison, WI

I think I might have a problem…

I really shouldn’t be drinking stuff with caffeine cus it makes my heart skip beats, but there’s just something about the smell of rich, warm, espresso drinks. Especially when I sit down to write, it just doesn’t feel right unless I have a cup of coffee to go along with my word acrobatics.

So, I’ve tried to switch to decaf. But anyway, on a recent trip to Madison with my husband, we spent some time at a few awesome coffee places I’d like to share ๐Ÿ™‚

Lazy Jane’s Cafe

20170407_093729_zpscs8zraux

Madison is my alma mater, so I’d heard of this place before, but never actually been there. My husband and I stopped in early for breakfast and were not disappointed!

This quaint cafe is two stories of comfy old armchairs, cozy tables, and amazing smells. The food was great, with offerings such as chorizo omelettes and traditional strawberry covered waffles, espresso drinks, and bakery options. Patrons order at the front, pick up their own orders at the window, and bus their tables when finished. It was a fun and delicious experience ๐Ÿ™‚

Barriques

20170407_105513_zpstruh05uo

There’s actually a several Barriques coffee shops, but we happened to visit the one nearest Wisconsin’s state capital building. This classy place has a bright and intellectual atmosphere, perfect for a business lunch or study break.

20170407_105858_zpsbl7ldsn5My husband and I sat here for a couple hours writing and drawing, just enjoying the artistic scrap metal decor and sipping coffee. My drink of choice- a decaf Baby Grasshopper (espresso, steamed milk, chocolate, and mint). Besides coffee and some great sandwiches, they also offer a pretty extensive list of alcoholic options if you need something a bit stronger.

20170407_105510_zpszsdm7dsq

Ground Zero Coffee

If you’re looking for a place with a bit more of an indie, hipster vibe, Ground Zero Coffee might be the place for you. Housed inside of an old, brick industrial building (which I think used to be a candy factory), this cafe has a light, artsy feel and great scones!

20170408_112401_zpsplmvaloa

If you’re in the Madison area and looking for a space to meet with friends, catch up on some writing, or even just to chill for a moment over a coffee, give this place a try!

Happy Travels!

Leave a Reply

