Writing Update- Hitting the Query Trenches

Wow… It’s been a little while since I’ve done a writing update, so I might be a bit overdue (I’m pretty sure my last one was posted in June… oops). But you know how that goes. Life gets busy with things like work and family, and writing gets shoved off to the side.

20170228_195525_zps56ze0ebiOctober isn’t going to get a whole lot better for writing, but it’s going to be fun. We’re hosting a masquerade themed murder mystery dinner party with some friends (hopefully I can post some pictures!) and I’m participating in Inktober this month, so that’s taking a large portion of my time.

But I have made some progress over the last several months. I did a pretty big overhaul one my first novel, with feedback from several beta readers and critique partners (Thanks again everyone!).

When I say a big overhaul, I mean I pretty much went through and rewrote huge sections (including my entire first and last chapters), moved things, deleted scenes, expanded other scenes, and then went through a second time to do more specific line edits. This process took me almost a full year, but I finished in time to submit for Pitch Wars.

Sadly, my novel wasn’t selected, but I did have some positive feedback from one of the mentors which gave me hope. So, I figure I’ve messed around long enough and it’s time to bite the bullet.

I’m finally taking the plunge into the query trenches!

My goal is to get 100 rejections.

Yes, you read that right. One hundred REJECTIONS. I know my book isn’t for everyone, but it only takes one yes to get an agent and one yes to get a book published. Every rejection is one more sign that I had the guts to send my writing out into the world.

So wish me luck on my journey 🙂 I’ll try to post updates on how my querying experience goes, so check back here for updates.

crest-05e1a637392425b4d5225780797e5a76In the meantime, I’m beginning to prep for NaNoWriMo! I’ve got ideas for a quite a few new novels, one YA and a few adult novels. One is a space opera, one a fairy tale retelling, another hard science fiction, and an urban fantasy.science-in-scifi_opt Now to decide which idea to actually use…

And in other writing news, I’m happy to announce that I participated in a great blog series hosted by author Dan Koboldt- Science in Sci-fi, Fact in Fantasy, a great compilation of references for writers written by space experts, geneticists, doctors, nurses, historians, etc… I wrote up a post on pharmacy in fiction- How to Cure a Pandemic.

So hop over to Dan’s website and check out some of these awesome articles!

Happy Writing!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Update- Hitting the Query Trenches

Leave a Reply

